|
|
Object
Manager
- It is not recommended that you
open two instances of Object Manager on the same machine connected to the
same project. Locking conflicts will occur.
- The destination project must
be of the same or greater metadata version as the source project.
Operations cannot be performed from a newer metadata to an older one. The
destination project must be updated first.
- In the MicroStrategy
architecture, each object is identified by its unique Object ID.
MicroStrategy Object Manager functionality is based on the Object ID.
Therefore, objects with different names in related projects could
potentially be related if they have the same Object ID. This occurs when
an object is individually copied from one project to another or is
duplicated as part of the project duplicate operation and the name of
either object is then changed.
- If a project, for example,
Project B, is a duplicate of an original project (Project A) and Project B
is duplicated to create Project C, Project C is compatible with Project A
for Object Manager use.
-
In order to maintain a simpler
production and development environment, it is recommended you move the
initial MDX cube reports from development to production before creating any
in the production environment.
- The preference option for
table mapping has been removed. The original mapping of the source object
will be maintained in the destination project.
-
Project comparison does not
support objects for MDX cube sources.
- Object Manager logs can be configured using the Microstrategy Diagnostics and Performance Logging tool. These logs are part of the Source Manipulator dispatcher, within the component Client Services.
- Sample xml files for creating and importing project and configuration packages from the command line are provided in the Object Manager installation folder.
- When importing project security packages, the associated configuration package must be imported prior to importing the project security packages.
- Force Replace and Delete actions are available only for packages, to handle complex migration scenarios, and not for conflict resolution using Object Manager.
- Using the Project Comparison Wizard, you can synchronize folders between source and destination projects. Objects that are present only in the destination project can be selected for removal, except for any objects in the destination project which is a dependent object of other objects in the destination project.
User
Merge Wizard
- The automatic mapping feature pre-selects users and groups with redundant
names, such as DSSADMIN and DSSADMIN1.
Project
Merge
- The Project Merge process locks both the source and
destination projects by default. While this default behavior can be changed, it is recommended to lock the source and destination projects for all project merges.
-
The results of a specific object, particularly the
parent and child relationships of attributes, depends on the resolution of
all the related attributes.
- Selecting the Keep Both for Parent and Child setting for
both the report and metric contained in the report results in a copy of
the parent (the report) pointing to the original child (the metric). The
copy of the child will not be used by the parent.
-
Projects must have the same Schema ID and they must be
updated to the same metadata version prior to the merge.
-
The destination project must be of the same metadata version or older
metadata version as the source project. Operations cannot be performed from
a newer metadata to an older version. The destination project must be updated
first.
- To run multiple project merges from the command line, add
<SkipProjectMergeSourceLockingSkipProjectMergeDestConfigLocking>
under OMSettingsOnOff in the Project Merge XML and make sure that the
Project Merge Log file names are different in each Project Merge XML or
multiple Merge sessions will not start.
- Undo functionality is not available.
- Project Merge logs can be configured using the Microstrategy Diagnostics and Performance Logging tool. These logs are part of the Source Manipulator dispatcher, within the component Client Services.
- Force Replace and Delete actions are not available for objects in the Project Merge wizard.
Repository Translation Wizard
- When using the Repository Translation Wizard, the translation import process does not change the object version ID and modification time of any objects that receive updated translations.
|